IBM Cloud - Structured Ideas


This portal is to open public enhancement requests against IBM Cloud and its products. To view all of your ideas submitted to IBM, create and manage groups of Ideas, or create an idea explicitly set to be either visible by all (public) or visible only to you and IBM (private), use the IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com).


Shape the future of IBM!

We invite you to shape the future of IBM, including product roadmaps, by submitting ideas that matter to you the most. Here's how it works:

Search existing ideas

Start by searching and reviewing ideas and requests to enhance a product or service. Take a look at ideas others have posted, and add a comment, vote, or subscribe to updates on them if they matter to you. If you can't find what you are looking for,

Post your ideas
  1. Post an idea.

  2. Get feedback from the IBM team and other customers to refine your idea.

  3. Follow the idea through the IBM Ideas process.


Specific links you will want to bookmark for future use

Welcome to the IBM Ideas Portal (https://www.ibm.com/ideas) - Use this site to find out additional information and details about the IBM Ideas process and statuses.

IBM Unified Ideas Portal (https://ideas.ibm.com) - Use this site to view all of your ideas, create new ideas for any IBM product, or search for ideas across all of IBM.

IBM Cloud Support Center (https://cloud.ibm.com/unifiedsupport/cases/form) – Use this site for any IBM Cloud defect or support need.

Stack Overflow (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/tagged/ibm-cloud) – Use this site for IBM Cloud technical Q&A using the tag "ibm-cloud".

ideasibm@us.ibm.com - Use this email to suggest enhancements to the Ideas process or request help from IBM for submitting your Ideas.

Deleting an application with only one service attached should not default to pre-selecting the service for delete

Scenario

Streaming Analytics is a service in bluemix that may or may not have other Bluemix apps connected to it.  In some cases, an application is created to more easily get the credentials required to submit jobs to this service.  I had done this, and then proceeded to upload my applications to the streaming analytics service to run.  I then proceeded to delete the application as I had no use for it.

On the deletion screen for the application, I did not immediately recognize that it had pre-selected my service to be deleted at the same time, and had simply clicked "Delete" on the diaglog box that appeared.

A picture of the diaglog box in question.

Problem

I had not wanted my Streaming Analytics service to be deleted, only my application.  This is a costly mistake for anyone to discover, especially, if this is done after setting up the service with data and/or more jobs (consider this is a database, or other service). 

WorkAround/Impact

none.  There is no way to recover from this, which means a person needs to re-create the service, change the credentials used for the jobs, and re-submit them.  This is essentially negating all the work done previously, and forcing me to re-do it.

Suggestion

Allow the user to delete the single service, attached to the application, but make the user to click on the service to include it in the deletion.  I firmly believe that the number of customers negatively impacted by the current dialog box, is greater than the discomfort of someone needing to select the service to be deleted.  In many cases, developers may be deleting applications as they want to re-create them, in essence, they have to click to "not" delete the service anyways.  In production scenarios, it means that they are less likely to "accidentally" remove an important service as well. 

People get busy, and dialog boxes are sometimes clicked through without a second thought (aka, this is how i ended up in this situation).  When the result is potentially a massive data or work loss (i.e, from some of these bluemix services), it's better for a customer to have to confirm the loss, then to deal with the aftermath of it being too easy to delete. 

  • Guest
  • Mar 23 2017
  • Not under consideration
  • Guest commented
    30 Mar, 2017 08:13pm

    If we change the default behavior to unselect the service when the last app is deleted, we risk leaving orphan services that may be billed to the client. Based on that, we have determined we will not change this behavior.

  • Guest commented
    23 Mar, 2017 06:26pm

    This is a big problem, especially since there is no way to recover. The default option should always be the safest!

By clicking the "Post Comment" or "Submit Idea" button, you are agreeing to the IBM Ideas Portal Terms of Use.
Do not place IBM confidential, company confidential, or personal information into any field.